DEIS Primary and Post Primary Schools

The ‘Delivering Equality of Opportunity in Schools’ (DEIS) programme was launched in 2005 to address educational disadvantage. The national objective is to focus on addressing and prioritising the educational needs of children and young people, aged 3 – 18 years, from disadvantaged communities

There are 19 Primary Schools under different categories of DEIS status: Primary Urban Band 1, Primary Urban Band 2, and Primary Rural. There are 7 Post Primary Schools with DEIS status, 6 of which are under the Tipperary Education and Training Board (TETB).

Benefits of DEIS status include:

  • Access to the Home School Community Liaison scheme and the School Completion Programme for DEIS Primary Schools in the categories, Primary Urban Bands 1 & 2, and for DEIS Post-Primary Schools.
  • Eligibility of Primary Urban Band 1 Primary Schools to retain and appoint staff to maintain a favourable Pupil-Teacher ratio.
  • Grants towards school initiatives to address educational disadvantage.
  • Access to planning supports and professional development supports.


DEIS Primary Schools

DEIS Primary Urban Band 1

DEIS Primary Rural

St. Joseph’s NS, Corville, Roscrea

Tel. (0505) 21485

St. Kevin’s NS, Littleton, Thurles

Tel. (0504) 44493

St. John’s NS, Roscrea

Tel. (0505) 23903

Glengoole NS, Thurles

Tel. (052) 9156644

St. Oliver Plunkett’s NS, Clonmel

Tel. (052) 6121016

St. Mary’s NS, Killenaule

Tel. (052) 9156447

Presentation Primary School, Carrick-on-Siúir

Tel. (051) 640798

Gaile NS, Holycross, Thurles

Tel. 087-9663959

St. Mary’s CBS, Carrick-on-Siúir

Tel. (051) 641333

St. Michael’s NS, Mullinahone

Tel. (052) 9153304

DEIS Primary Urban Band 2

St. Joseph’s NS, Toomevara, Nenagh

Tel. (067) 26088

St. Joseph’s Primary School, Templemore

Tel. (0504) 31141

Cappawhite NS, Cappawhite

Tel. (062) 75363

St. Colmcille’s Primary School, Templemore

Tel. (0504) 31616

Clogheen Central NS, Clogheen

Tel. (052) 7465370

Sacred Heart Primary School, Roscrea

Tel. (0505) 21620

Slieveardagh NS, The Commons, Thurles

Tel. (052) 9154422

Ss. Peter and Paul’s NS, Clonmel

Tel. (052) 6121964

St. Ailbe’s NS, Emly

Tel. (062) 5742

DEIS Post Primary Schools

Patrician Presentation Secondary School, Fethard

Tel. (052) 6131572

Comeragh College (TETB), Carrick-on-Siúir

Tel. (051) 640131

Scoil Ruáin (TETB), Killenaule

Tel. (052) 9156332

Coláiste Chluain Meala (TETB), Clonmel

Tel. (052) 6121450

Newport College (TETB), Newport

Tel. (061) 37862

St. Ailbe’s Secondary School (TETB), Tipperary town

Tel. (062) 51905

Coláiste Mhuire (TETB), Thurles

Tel. (0504) 21734